The accessibility mode increases the contrast for people with visual problems.


Radon

Radon is an odourless gas that is produced by the breakdown of uranium in the Earth's crust. It emanates from the ground and diffuses into the air. Radon enters our lungs with the air we breathe, however it is greatly diluted resulting in concentrations too low to be of concern. But when radon seeps into a house, it tends to accumulate in the lower levels of the home, especially in winter because windows are closed. Radon entering home (in french)

A recent study conducted by Health Canada in 15,000 homes across the country shows that one in ten houses in Quebec had a radon problem, meaning the radon concentration exceeded 200 becquerels per cubic metre.

Health effects

Long-term exposure to radon is a risk factor for lung cancer. In Quebec, this risk factor is second only to smoking tobacco. As a preventive measure, it is recommended to have your home tested. If a high level of radon is detected, there are certain measures that can be taken to correct the situation. We invite you to consult the information prepared by the Société d'habitation du Québec with regard to what needs to be done . You can also visit the Government of Québec’s health portal to learn more about residential radon.

Get a radon detector

Détecteur de radon

You can order a radon detector from website of the Association pulmonaire du Québec where you’ll also find a lot of information on this gas and its effects.

If you prefer, you can also rent a digital radon detector for a period of 3 to 6 months, at a cost of $50 (plus a $50 deposit), by coming to the Urban Planning, Permits and Inspection Department. 

We invite you to contact the Environment Management Division at 450-466-3199 or environnement@saint-lambert.ca to make sure a device is available before you come by to pick it up or for more information.

Le mode accessibilité augmente les contrastes pour les personnes ayant des difficultés visuelles.


Radon

Le radon est un gaz radioactif inodore produit lors de la désintégration de l’uranium de la croûte terrestre. Il se diffuse depuis le sol jusque que dans l’air ambiant. Les concentrations respirées ne représentent pas un danger pour la santé puisque le radon est grandement dilué dans l’air. Toutefois, lorsqu’il s’infiltre dans une maison, le radon a tendance à s’accumuler dans les pièces inférieures, principalement l’hiver, puisque les fenêtres demeurent ferméeSchéma pénétration du radon dans la maisons. 

Une récente étude menée par Santé Canada dans 15 000 maisons à travers le pays démontre qu’une maison sur dix, au Québec, présente un problème de radon, c’est-à-dire une concentration supérieure à 200 becquerels par mètre cube.

Effets sur la santé

L’exposition à long terme au radon est un facteur de risque du cancer du poumon. Au Québec, ce facteur de risque se situe en deuxième place, après le tabagisme. À titre préventif, il est recommandé de tester votre maison. Si un taux élevé de radon est détecté, le problème peut se corriger par des travaux. Nous vous invitons à consulter l'expertise développée par la Société d'habitation du Québec quant aux travaux requis

Visitez également le portail santé du gouvernement du Québec pour en apprendre davantage sur le radon domiciliaire. 

Détecteur de radon

Procurez-vous un détecteur de radon

Vous pouvez commander un détecteur de radon sur le site Internet de l’Association pulmonaire du Québec. Vous y trouverez également plein de renseignements sur ce gaz et ses effets.

Si vous préférez, vous pouvez aussi louer un détecteur de radon numérique, pour une période de 3 à 6 mois, au coût de 50 $ (plus un dépôt de 50 $), en vous présentant au Service de l’urbanisme, des permis et de l’inspection

Pour plus d’information, communiquez avec la Division de l’environnement au 450 466-3199 ou à environnement@saint-lambert.ca.